Home >Co vidět >Sights >Town Tower

Town Tower

The seventy-five-meter-high landmark of the historic centre, connected with the facade of St. Martin’s Church, is historically linked to the period of 1335, when Margrave Charles, later Czech King and Roman Emperor Charles IV, allowed Třebíč to follow the norm of urban law.

The seventy-five-meter-high landmark of the historic centre, connected with the facade of St. Martin’s Church, is historically linked to the period of 1335, when Margrave Charles, later Czech King and Roman Emperor Charles IV, allowed Třebíč to follow the norm of urban law.

The tower was built as part of the town fortification system, several times it was also damaged by fires or storms. It is interesting to note that after the conquest of the town by King Matthias Corvinus of Hungary in 1468, the tower withstood his soldiers’ effort to undermine and overturn it, thanks to its solid foundations.

After the 1997 repairs, the tower was open to the public. After climbing the 162 steps to the gallery at a height of 35 meters, visitors will discover a breathtaking view of Třebíč, including monuments inscribed on the prestigious UNESCO World Heritage List.

At the level of the gallery, there is an apartment where the watchman, the horn-blower and then the towerman used to live. Their task was to announce a regular time, but according to legend, the horn blowing in Třebíč was supposed in three directions only. There are memorial bells in the belfry under the apartment. Two of them have survived from the former fraternal congregation in Jejkov. The third, named Svatopluk, served to ring to the dissenters.

The tower is equipped with the largest mounted tower dials in the country.

Celý text

Contact the guide

during the opening hours

tel.: +420 775 707 502
e-mail: vez@mkstrebic.cz
web: www.visittrebic.eu

Opening hours

May - September

Monday - Sunday 10:00-12:00, 13:00-18:00

Admission

Full Price            30 CZK
Reduce Price     15 CZK

Note

Off-seasoning tours must be ordered 3 days in advance for at least of 5 visitors within the TIC Národní dům opening hours on tel.: +420 568 610 021. The admission is based on the  off-season price list. There are no tours in December for security reasons.

Napište nám

Jméno a příjmení: *
E-mail: *
Doplňující informace:
* - Takto označené položky je nutné vyplnit